How to Create Artist and Album Name for Home Recordings

Core Machine (Operating system/System info/Roon build number)

Nucleus+
Network Details (Including networking gear model/manufacturer and if on WiFi/Ethernet)

Ethernet
Audio Devices (Specify what device you’re using and its connection type - USB/HDMI/etc.)

Mac Pro
Description Of Issue

I’m new to Roon and I want to use it to completely replace iTunes. I use iTunes for organizing ripped CD’s etc by other people and I use it for organizing my own music (I’m a recording artist). I want to be able to easily record tracks in my recording studio, then drag them into a playlist, then enter artist name and album name. But I can’t figure out how to do this. There doesn’t appear to be a place where you can enter in the name of the artist or album. Am I missing something? In iTunes you just go to the info for the track and enter it right there. Super easy. But I’m not seeing that in Room. Please help.

Are your files tagged? Roon should pick up tags on your files to start with.

To edit them you select the track/album, click the “hamburger” button then select edit album/track.

What does it mean to “tag” a file? I don’t know what a tag is.

But here’s more info on what happens. I bounce to the hard drive from Digital Performer (one of the major DAW programs that mixing engineers use, similar to Pro Tools or Apple Logic). When you bounce a mix to the hard drive, you select basic parameters like bit depth, sample rate. But you don’t add any info like artist, album, etc. The DAW just creates the AIFF file. That’s it. Then, historically I drag this into iTunes and add the artist name, album, date, etc.

Are you suggesting that I have to tag the file somehow before it goes into Roon? Please explain what this is and why it matters. Many thanks.