How to focus on only one song per artist?

Hi, i’m new to Roon and would like to shuffle my library, but only one song for each artist.
Is there a way to create a focus that achieves this?

Thanks for your help!

2 Likes

Gave this some thought, but I’m stumped. Not sure it can be done.

Let me get this straight. You only want one song from each artist ever? So if you have ten albums, you only want to play ten songs?

Thanks for your replies!

I’m coming from JRiver Mediacenter, where i have implemented such a query on my library and use it every day.

The reason is, my library consists of about 1,000 artists with a very different amount of songs for each.
Bob Dylan has nearly 200 songs, whereas A.A. Bondy has only one.
That means, i would hear Bob Dylan too often and other artists too seldom. I don’t like that.

If i filter my library so that every artist delivers only one song per query and afterwards shuffle the result, i get a non-boring sequence of music (like a radio).

Additionally i only query on titles that weren’t played for at least a month.

To answer your question “You only want one song from each artist ever? So if you have ten albums, you only want to play ten songs?”:
Yes, correct. That’s the reason, i want to focus on only one song per artist. I hope that’s possible in Roon, too.

It’s funny how we all have our own way of enjoying music. In my case, I don’t use playlist or random music. I like to play entire albums at a time. When the album finishes, I’ll let Roon radio play a couple of selections to see if it brings up another album I should add.

So do i for classical music :slight_smile:

1 Like