How to reclassify songs listed in “Unknown Artist” album?

I am new to Roon and am trying to work through metadata issues. All albums were ripped through dbPoweramp but there is a mixed level of success when importing to Roon. Two examples are JJ Cale and Willie Nelson. I have 5 to 10 albums of each artist. Most tracks imported but a lot of them are not associated with the correct album. They are grouped under an album labeled Unknown Artist. I have tried selecting songs and asking Roon to re identify them but that doesn’t help. Any suggestions?

I look at the metadata and see why it is showing up incorrectly and edit it. I use a PC and mp3tag

Thanks. I will check out that program to see if It can help. Everything imports perfectly into Audirvana Plus. It is perplexing why Roon can’t do the same.

I have similar problems. I would select the orphan tracks/albums together and click merge. That should merge them to one album and you should be able to sort the tracks in the right order. Does that work for you?

This sounds like a good idea. I will try that first. Thanks.

The Merge Album feature is very useful. However, it is not able to fix a lot of my problems as many tracks are still hidden under the Unknown Artist label.

In reviewing metadata on my hard drive, it looks like all files have an artist associated with it. I am wondering if the structure of folders makes any difference in helping Roon identify albums.

At some point I am going to have to learn how to use one of the metadata programs to see if that can help.

Thanks to all who have commented on this thread.

Roon metadata is hell for me. There are a large number of orphaned tracks that don’t show up on the proper album. When I look at the metadata on my hard rive, the information looks the same from song to song. Thus, I don’t even know what to fix to make it work.