HQ Player - Roon Troubleshooting Guide

Since there are a number of users (including me) who are using HQplayer with Roon, it would be nice to have a troubleshooting guide as a sticky. I have been using HQplayer for about 3 months and Roon + HQplayer for about 2 months. I have come across a range of issues each requiring a different solution. Both Roon forum and CA forum has been very helpful, but it requires a lot of asking and searching. I am listing the issues I faced and how I solved them, YMMV.

As a first step, see if the settings you want work with just HQplayer, without Roon or NAA. Then add NAA and finally add Roon. This would help to isolate the source of the problem.

I am running both Roon Core and HQplayer on MBP 2014, i7 2.5GHz, 16G RAM, Yosimite -> NAA (Audiolinux) ->iFi iDSD or Hugo TT

1. HQplayer goes to sleep: Symptom: Playback halts usually in a few minutes, but starts when you bring HQplayer to the foreground or in focus. This has nothing to do with Roon, it is a energy/perfomance optimization ā€˜featureā€™ of Yosemite (donā€™t know about El Captain). Proof: Keep activity monitor in the foreground, when the playback stops look at the Energy tab and App nap column for HQplayer would say Yes. Solution: Disable App nap for HQplayer. However, you cannot right click and use the checkbox option as HQplayer does not have this feature exposed. Instead you can open terminal and disable App nap. You can either do a system wide disable of App nap (I would not recommend it unless the Mac is used purely for music playback). You could disable App nap for HQplayer alone using the following command: defaults write -app HQPlayerDesktop NSAppSleepDisabled -bool YES.