Importing music to internal storage problem

Core Machine (Operating system/System info/Roon build number)

ROCK on NUC10 i7 w/ 2Tb HDD Internal Storage

Network Details (Including networking gear model/manufacturer and if on WiFi/Ethernet)

AmpliFi Router HD w/ Windows Laptop on WiFi & NUC Core on Ethernet

Audio Devices (Specify what device you’re using and its connection type - USB/HDMI/etc.)

Denon AVR-6700 connecting to Core with HDMI

Description Of Issue

I just got my Roon Core up and running so I have zero experience with it. I’m trying to import(Drag and drop) music from a USB drive on my laptop to the internal storage drive on the Core Device.

I copied around 290 albums(A-C from my USB drive). My Roon library shows 455 albums. It took an album, say with the name “AA”, and made 2 albums named “AA”. Both have the same album art, 1 with the correct tracks, and 1 with all the same tracks plus 3 others from various artists.

Then it takes a various artists album (Billboard Hits 1967) and uses the correct album art for that album and creates 10 albums with the same art and puts 1 track in each and calls it that tracks artists name. I think I can force it to use the files data instead of Roon’s(although I haven’t tried it) but then that defeats to purpose of using Roon and its Metadata base in the 1st place.

I stopped at -C- because of this but I still need to import D-Z and all the single tracks I have. And will it try to make an album out of each of the singles?

Where should I go from here?

To fix this, you can select all of the instances of the split album, select Edit, and then Merge album, to re-create them into a single album.

As to what could cause it, one thing is the meta-data in the tracks themselves. There is both the Artist and Album Artist fields. If Artist is listed and Album Artist is not, Roon might mess things up. Usually, for compilations, Album Artist should be “Various Artists” (obviously not the quotes).