Include ability to add band membership for artists

For artists Roon knows it lists bands they’re members of, but the metadata isn’t always complete and for Unknown Artists there’s obviously nothing.

Would be great to be able to add to band membership and add same for unknown artists.

2 Likes

Agree.
But band membership varies over time.
And many musicians are members in multiple bands, overlapping in time.
Makes editing metadata demanding, and error prone.

We should just be content with our rich metadata.

I do not think empowerment of the Roon user base is in Roon’s roadmap, although there were moments early on…I vaguely remember them. :roll_eyes:

I had the same request - until I read the article on File Tag Best Practices - most notably the section called “You can now add credits using file tags!”.

This works great with files that support Vorbis comments (vorbis, opus, FLAC). I have no experience with ID3 or AAC tags.

But I have added incredibly rich metadata to obscure artists/albums/tracks with this method. And there are plenty of Credit Roles to choose from.

Yip, I’m aware of and use those, but they don’t include a way to indicate an individual is a band member.

Do these not work?

Category Role
Main Performer Group Member
Main Performer Member of Main Personnel

Never tried that, will do, albeit that would be an album level tag so you’d have to have an album on which the artist appears in the band.

Here’s an example, she’s a member of another band as well. It’d make more sense if Roon allowed you a to add band memberships when editing the artist rather than having to tag at album level

I have never used it either, so hopefully it works the way you are looking for…

The tags I typically add are the Performer type PERSONNEL tags or the WORK/PART tags…

Album level makes more sense to me - example, Opeth has had a different drummer for just about every one of their albums…