Roon Core Machine

UBUTU Linux 22.04 LTS (latest version)
64 bit
Dnome version 42.1

Toshiba Satellite T135
4.0 GiB memory
Processor intel CPU U4100 @1.30 GHZ

Networking Gear & Setup Details

I am connected to the internet via wifi. it is TP Link DECO M5 firmware version 1.5.7 build 20210819 rel. 43499

Connected Audio Devices

I use Tidal and have a BlueSound Node 2i that I am using on a Win 11 machine. I want to stop using the win 11 machine for roon as I get dropouts and freezes. Thus the linux installation.

Number of Tracks in Library

Not important at this point, but it is alarge library on a NAS setup.

Description of Issue

I can’t get Roon to run on the LINUX setup. I should say I am a newbie to LINUX, knowlege of OS is nil.

Roon does not seem to be running. I don’t see the Roon process in the System Monitor.

Here is the installation log:

tomkiki1@tomkiki1-Satellite-T135:~/Downloads$ sudo ./roonserver-installer-linuxx64.sh

Welcome to the RoonServer installer

This installer sets up RoonServer to run on linux with the following
settings:

• RoonServer will be installed in /opt/RoonServer
  • RoonServer’s data will be stored in /var/roon/RoonServer
  • RoonServer will be configured to run as a system service
  • RoonServer will run as root

These settings are suitable for turning a dedicated or semi-dedicated
device
into an appliance that runs RoonServer

If you want customize how RoonServer is installed, see:

http://kb.roonlabs.com/LinuxInstall

Do you want to install RoonServer on this machine? [Y/n] y

Downloading RoonServer_linuxx64.tar.bz2 to
/tmp/tmp.7OwJ9pPsZc/RoonServer_linuxx64.tar.bz2

###################################################################################################
100.0%

Unpacking RoonServer_linuxx64.tar.bz2…Done

Checking to see if RoonServer can run on this machine

Checking for Binary Compatibility [   OK   ]
 Checking for ALSA Libraries [   OK   ]
 Checking for ffmpeg or avconv [   OK   ]