Installing a Nucleus as new Core and a Moon 280D tomorrow

I’m still quite new to Roon, and tomorrow I will be replacing my Mac mini as the Core. The mini is currently connected to my Oppo BDP105 by USB in my main system, and though a wired network to a Digione Player connected to a Bel Canto DAC2.5 in our bedroom.

I just took possession of a Nucleus today, which will be the new Roon Core, and a Simaudio Moon 280D DAC with the Mind2 module, which is Roon Ready. The Nucleus will connect to the 280D through the network, replacing the Oppo as DAC in the main system, and will also connect to the Digione/BelCanto in the bedroom.

I’m super excited, but I guess I’m not quite sure how to make the Nucleus my new Core and drop the mini from the system. The mini currently has Roon Server on it (wasn’t using full Roon because I run the mini headless).

I read the migration page in the Users Guide, as well as some links provided, and it looks like I will have to launch a back-up of the Roon Database onto the Nucleus? Is that right? But how do I do that before the Nucleus is the Core for my account, and how does the mini then become decommissioned (for lack of a better word)?

I’m a bit confused about the Roon Database actually. I understand what it does, and how to make backups, but I don’t understand where the actual Roon Database, as opposed to the backups, resides and why I need to use the backups for a new Core. Does that even make sense?

Anyway, it there is a very basic, step-by-step guide for this process that is fully up to date, I’d appreciate seeing it. If not, I’d appreciate any advice. Thanks in advance.

Hey @Joshua_Thayer — Thanks for reaching out!

Yes, you just need to restore a backup of your Roon database and you’ll be good to go on the Nucleus. I’d definitely have the Migration guide you mentioned handy during this process in case you have any questions. Of course you can always reach out to use here as well!