Intel NUC + NuPrime DAC-10H DSD 256 playback issue

Core Machine (Operating system/System info/Roon build number)

Intel NUC8i5BEH running Windows

Network Details (Including networking gear model/manufacturer and if on WiFi/Ethernet)

Ethernet

Audio Devices (Specify what device you’re using and its connection type - USB/HDMI/etc.)

Intel NUC connected to DAC via USB

Description Of Issue

Hello everybody,

I’m still in the trial period so basically I’m still a noob in all things Roon.
I find it to be a very comprehensive software piece, which is the reason i’ve fallen in love with all it’s functionalities.

But unfortunately there is one issue that is bugging me and I tried getting over it but to no avail.

I am running Roon off of my Intel NUC8I3BEH via an USB cable to my trusty NuPrime DAC-10H. Theoretically, the NuPrime should be able to playback DSD files at 256 natively, but somehow there is no option to select “native” in the “DSD playback strategy” setting option.
I can only select "DSD over PCM v1.0 DoP) and that only allows me to play DSD at 128.

As I said, I am new to Roon and still trying to figure out how can I optimally set it up, but I’ve gone though every setting and every community topic I could find, and still couldn’t fix my issue. I changed USB cables, connected the NUC through Ethenet, Wi-fi, etc, tried unplugging and plugging back while restarting the DAC, but nothing seemed to work.

Can someone please tell what am i missing here?

Best regards,

Hi @Alexandru_Covaciu,

Welcome to the Community and for giving Roon a trial! Judging from your name I take it you might be Romanian? If that’s the case then - bine ai venit! :slight_smile:

I took a look at the DAC 10-H Manual and I do see DSD256 rates listed via USB, so it’s a bit strange you are not presented with this option. Have you made sure to install the NuPrime USB Driver on your Core first?