Introducing RoPieee - A RoonBridge-to-go image for the Raspberry Pi

Hi, I want to introduce Ropieee with you. Ropieee is an ‘Roon-ready-to-go’ image for the Raspberry Pi: http://www.ropieee.org

Over the past year I’ve been using a Raspberry Pi as a RoonBridge endpoint. A hard/software combination with a difficult to beat price/value ratio. However, during this year I’ve found out that we’ve got a lot of fellow Roon’ers that aren’t willing or capable of ‘managing’ a Linux OS on a Raspberry Pi. And although DietPi is a fantastic piece of software (I’ve been using it for many months now), I can imagine that it’s still ‘too technical’ for some users. DietPi also serves a different purpose I guess: it’s a generic image that supports a wide variety of software besides Roon (and does a fantastic job imho).

So out of a pure “let’s see” mindset I’ve constructed a RPi image that requires no setup whatsoever. Out of the box it runs RoonBridge and if something needs to be configured it provides a simple web interface where the user can change it’ settings. The idea is that for users this is merely a ‘RoonBridge appliance’ which you can run, without having any knowledge about Linux, operating systems in general and other tech stuff.

It’s far from done, and right now rather limited. It only supports USB DAC’s and wired ethernet for now. But I wanted to release it as it might be useful for someone else. The coming weeks I’ll place everything on github so other people can contribute if they wish.