iPhone app does not show what is currently being played by Roon

Downloaded the iPhone app last night (iPhone 7+ - iOS 10.3.3) - it immediately found my core - version 1.3 build 262 - (is that the correct term?, I am new to Roon). However, it does not show what is currently playing? If memory serves me correctly - it is showing the last song I was playing last night. I started a new album this morning directly on the computer (Mac Mini (mid 2011 - i5, 8gb ram - OS 10.12.6) I do not have this issue with the iPad app. I have tried to pull down to refresh (common in many iOS apps) and nothing happened. This is not an end of the world issue - but it seems bizarre. I looked in Preference in Roon and did not see anything related to mobile devices, other than “Accept connections from remotes” which is set to YES. I should mention that I do occasionally get a dropped connection like others have reported in the forum - but even when the connection is restored the iPhone app is still showing the last song played last night as the currently playing song.

One other note - I cannot play a selection from the iPhone either - in other words, the iPhone selection - while it thinks it is playing - is not actually playing on Roon.

Other than a few issues with metadata - i am enjoying Room the more I use it. Thanks for any help.

have you got multiple output devices? Is the correct one selected?

I am not 100% sure by “output devices”, but if you mean in Settings->Audio, I have 4 options. The system is currently playing through my stereo which is a Moon by Simaudio amp/preamp combination, and that is listed as a device connected to “this mac”

Yep, that’s the way it works. Your remote will show the last selection you made from it with a particular endpoint. Since you used your Mac to make a selection for an endpoint and not the remote, your remote retains the last selection you made from it. I doubt that this works on your iPad, either.

Seems bizarre and confusing. I dislike it.