iPhone Roon app

Bitching alarm! :skull_and_crossbones:

I’m really enjoying my music — with the Auralic Lightening remote app on my iPhone. The frustration of usin the Roon app on iPhone just got to much. Seems I spend more time on the forum than enjoying my music. Roon has many nice features, like the incredible flexibility of remote control choices, but I’ve been using it for a couple of months now and the weaknesses are beginning to show. The lack of intuitiveness on the iOS app on iPhone being a prominent problem. Also it loses connection all the time on my network, something the Auralic Lightening app doesn’t do at all.

For my use (I own an Auralic Aries) the Auralic Lightening app for iOS spins circles around the iOS Roon app. Specially on the iPhone.

1 Like

No true Roonman relies solely on a cellphone for his remote.

Use a tablet or laptop for a much better experience.

AJ

2 Likes

I find the opposite my lightening software takes sometimes about 30 seconds to connect or it says it can’t find my Aries, where as Roon connects instantly and never hangs.
BUT your forgetting one thing and that Roon sounds superior over the lightening app

1 Like

Hello Brian, bizarro me.

Funny how it is. There´s many things that are different from setup to setup and from one person´s personal preferences to another.
But the sound is by no matter better, in ANY cirumstance, coming from Roon than from Auralic Aries. If anything the opposite is more true.

Have a nice one, bizarro me. (The opposite of me.)

Agreed. That´s my experience also. But I prefer the iPhone, so there´s the problem.

I can’t say what’s causing the technical issues you’re mentioning (dropouts) offhand, but I handed back my auralic aries after half a year after I could never get it to work without intermittent dropouts in the connection to the app, plus a myriade of teething problems. Swapped it for a Moon Mind 2, and with Roon it’s been rock solid.
Are all major components cabled in your network?