Is one iPad better than another for controlling Roon?

I have an older 5th generation basic iPad that I use exclusively to control Roon on my main system. I’ve been thinking about pulling the trigger on a newer model but I’m not sure which one would be best for my needs. I really like the idea of having face recognition which is currently only available on the two iPad Pro models (10 inch and 12.9 inch).

Have any of you upgraded your iPad recently and did you notice any improvements in Roon’s interface performance when you did?

FYI, I’m only interested in an iPad tablets for this purpose because I’ve been using Apple products since 1996 and I don’t have any plans to switch.

Thanks for your input.

I have an iPad Pro - which is great for Roon. I also use it for a multiplicity of other uses. An iPad Pro is an expensive proposition if it is only going to be used for Roon!

1 Like

I was in your situation late in 2020 my 4th Gen Ipad battery died eventually so I treated myself to an iPad Pro 12.9 (My excuse was a BIG Birthday)

The speed difference is startling as you would expect 6-7 years of processor updates. The screen is simply amazing . Think about reading a magazine , I use it for books and mags too.

There’s always BUT , if you plan to use it for anything other than armchair browsing of Roon its a BIG thing to carry around, consider it a laptop not a stick in your handbag iPad

Mine never leaves the house and for Roon I wouldn’t swap it ,

I got the basic 128 G WiFi only as 3-4G would have been a waste as it effectively not mobile

I am totally happy with that decision :grinning:

4 Likes

I’ve been using iPad mainly but found a cheap Samsung galaxy tab works perfectly well