Is the newest Allo BOSS2 available on Ropiee?

Good evening,

I wanted to ask you if the brand new Allo BOSS 2 is or will be available with Ropiee

thank you very much

https://www.allo.com/sparky-eu/boss2.html

1 Like

I’m interested in knowing the same.

1 Like

Unit is on it’s way.

4 Likes

Any update?

Release will be out any day now. It will be limited to audio only for now, so no display.

1 Like

Thank you!

Thank you. It works flawlessly. You said no display for now, does this mean, that you will integrate the Boss2 OLED application in the future? (this one)
I am not really good at programming and I can’t make it work.

Also what sould I select in Roon under MQA capabilities? Renderer only, Decoder only, Decoder& Renderer or No MQA?

Thank you in advance

I was able to get my Boss2 OLED screen working with Ropieee, but it took a lot of trial and error.

The install script that Allo provides gets you most of the way there, but you’ll notice that it errors out installing the RPi.GPIO. It’s been a long time since I used a Raspberry Pi for programming projects, so I wasn’t very acquainted in how to fix the error.

No matter what I did I kept getting the same error when trying to install the RPI.GPIO using the setup.py command. Running ‘systemctl’ from an SSH showed that the service for the OLED was installed, but not starting (crashes on start).

Eventually I got it working by installing pip (package installer for python) and using PIP to install the RPI.GPIO. I could check to see if the fix worked immediately by trying to launch the service ( ’ systemctl start ropieee-boss2-oled.service’ ) and then run ‘systemctl’ to see if it was still running.

I also had to use the ‘CFLAGS’ prefix to the PIP command to get pip to install the RPIO, and I have no idea what the CFLAGS are, but I found this suggestion with some google searches.

This is all based on my memory… but I think these are the commands that actually helped:

to install python2 and python2 PIP