Issues with setting up custom genres

I am new to Roon and I am trying to setup some custom genres. I have managed to create new genres and to start to work on the genre hierarchy. There’s a couple of issues though:

1. I can’t find a way of setting a custom image for a genre I create. Some of the genres I have created automatically have an image generated, based on an artist in the genre in the thumbnail view and a collage of album covers in the main view. But some just have the default grey image.

2. When I create new genres in Roon, even though I am using title case, these are showing as being in lowercase, and naturally I would like everything in title case, to match the other genres. Is this a bug?

Could someone offer some guidance here? Thanks.

Hi @nickharambee,

1. You cannot set custom images for any genres — These are generated automatically.
  2. Can you share a screenshot of this?

Thanks for letting me know that I can’t create a custom image for genres Dylan. I am happy for this to be populated automatically. The custom genres that didn’t have an image yesterday do have an image today! Am I right in thinking that these images come from an Artist image for one one of the artists assigned to the genre? That is what appears to be happening. Having said this, I just created a new custom genre and as you can see from the screenshot, it is currently a default image - maybe it just takes some time to populate?

The issue with lowercase remains though for genres I created yesterday. You can also see in the screenshot that Nigeria is in lower case, even though I used title case yesterday. Yesterday I tried deleting the genre and trying again, with the same outcome. Is there a way of editing the text for custom genres - to try again to get title case? The Ghana genre that I created today worked fine.

Hi @nickharambee,