iTunes Import, exclude selected playlists

Hello.

I am new to Roon and having a question regarding the import of my itunes library. My library is a mix of singles, albums and livesets. I only want to import the latter two not the singles. How can i do that? How to exclude them in the import process?

Thx

Anybody please? Running out of my trial membership… :slight_smile:

Are these classifications stored in separate locations or are they all under one directory structure currently?
I believe (and I have never used iTunes) that roon only imports using an iTunes generated XML file that is in the same location as the files. So if they are separate then you can exclude them.

Or if the tracks have metadata that identifies them as singles etc then you could import them and use the roon focus function to select them all and remove them.

Hello and thanks for the reply.

they are all under one directory structure. So you are right it is one XML file generated.

Yes, the tracks have a metadata under comments called “single”. How would the focus function look like? Is comments possible? Attached a picture of the metadata.52

No I don’t think so unfortunately.
I will explicitly copy in the support team to see if they can help @support

The only way to exclude iTunes playlists is… to not use them from the XML library file.

1. In Roon, deselect the checkbox to import playlists from iTunes.

2. Download/install “Playlist Export” from the Mac App Store.

The app will load your iTunes library and let you “export” playlists that you choose, along with a bunch of options such as changing root paths to match your Roon library storage.

If you have questions, feel free to post them here and ask. I use this app to greatly reduce the playlists I see in Roon (e.g. I have a bunch of utility playlists that I use in iTunes to manage my collection that I don’t use to actually play music).