KEF LSX , Elac Discovery Z3

Hi

Been driving myself mad here googling and reading reviews of these two pieces of equipment

I am looking for something to replace the Bose speaker I have in the kitchen. I’m new to all this and recently bought a Marantz streamer/amp , Elac speakers and also a Raspberry pi for my headphones, now it’s the kitchens turn

I love the look of the KEF but the reviews are not great in terms of app etc but I figured I would solely be using Roon so no real issue there. Then I got into a rabbit hole and the Elac came up in a discussion on here

None of my local stores have either of these in stock so I’m struggling to go and listen to these.

Does anyone have any views on where I would be best spending my money. I love the fact Elac is Roon Ready against the KEF which is I think Roon tested.

Thoughts much appreciated

I have the LSX and enjoy them, part of my desktop setup. I have an all-Apple house, so AirPlay works fine, but I also have used them with Roon using the KEF streaming protocol. If you have other AirPlay devices, you can group them, but if not they cannot be grouped. I don’t know your situation and whether grouping zones matters to you.

I have read good things about the Z3 but have not heard them myself. Compared to the KEFs they will not provide as wide a stereo soundstage due to the all-in-one design, but again don’t know if that is important to you in the kitchen. Both systems support Ethernet direct, but the Z3 only supports the 2.4 GHz WiFi band which may result in interference, especially if a microwave oven is used close to it. Price favors the Z3, but the KEF also have a subwoofer out.

I also have the LSX.

Have you experienced the issue of KEF Streaming option disappearing in Roon leaving only the AirPlay option?

As of last week, no issues. Both AirPlay and KEF Streaming have been available to me.

1 Like

I haven’t tried the KEF so can’t offer a comparison.