Learning curve for release 1.8

@support Does the development team for the upcoming 1.8 release have any idea of what, if any, learning curve there may be for experienced Roon users for the revised user interface? I’ve been using Roon for just over two years and once 1.8 is installed I fear that I may be back to square one when using Roon.

1 Like

There are a number of v1.8 videos on YouTube. I think you’ll learn everything you need from those. There are some differences, but nothing that you’ll have trouble picking up if you are already familiar with v1.7

https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=roon+1.8

That’s the same video that was posted (via a link) to this forum several days ago. It really doesn’t give one a good feel for just how release 1.8 differs from the current 1.7 release in day to day use. Hopefully you are correct and I will quickly become a Roon 1.8 wiz!

You’ll be fine. Biggest difference is how Focus works. If you were not a big user of Focus before, there won’t be much new to learn. If you were, you may want to take a day off of work next week since you’ll probably be up late discovering albums and artists and having all kinds of fun. :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

1 Like

Can’t say that’s happened to me so far.

Don’t worry doesnt take long, its not fundamentally that much different to 1.7 for most basic playback needs.

I’m guessing that @David_Snyder and @CrystalGipsy are both beta testers and I thank you for your responses and reassurances. I feel better now! Looking forward to Tuesday’s release.

By the way, since I have lots of Grateful Dead live recording in my collection I do tend to use Focus but I’ve been very frustrated with Focus’ many limitations so hopefully 1.8 will improve upon Focus so that it becomes the useful tool it should have always been.