Lost connection - Taking longer than expected to connect

Core Machine (Operating system/System info/Roon build number)

Innuos Zenith mk3 - Roon v1.6 build 416

Network Details (Including networking gear model/manufacturer and if on WiFi/Ethernet)

iPad Pro - WiFi to Apple Airport router - wired connection via switch to Zenith
IPad Roon software version 1.6 build 438.

Audio Devices (Specify what device you’re using and its connection type - USB/HDMI/etc.)

Lumin X1 streamer connected by Ethernet cable directly to Zenith

Description Of Issue

I’ve been using Roon without issues for about 6 months with this hardware setup. Fairly recently, I’ve found that Roon is slow to reconnect to the music server when I go back to the app on the iPad. This happens whether or not you are currently listening to music. It seems that if you move away from the app to do something else on the iPad, or simply just leave the iPad alone (without closing it Roon down), this annoying connection delay happens if you don’t go back to Roon again within a few minutes. If you switch back after a short time - it connects straight away, as it always seemed to in the past. Maybe this apparent change is as a result of an iOS update? I’m running 13.2.2. Roon does always reconnect eventually - but it is annoying! Any ideas?

1 Like

Hi @Stephen_Neads,

What is the switch that is in use that you mentioned above?

Does this happen with any other remotes besides the iPad?

The switch is a Netgear GS105.

I normally use the iPad - so I don’t know much about the connection speed of other devices, but I tried it just now on an iPhone and it connected quickly. I will try it again periodically to see if this is consistent.

I have had similar problems recently with my iPad Pro 12.9” often dropping connections 8-10 times in a 30 minute period.

I will try other iPad/iPhones and update this post.

My 12.9” pro 3rd generation (purchased August 19) manufactured June 19

Mine is also a 12.9” pro - 2018 model.