Lost trying to set up a NUC with Rock

I’m completely new to Roon. Recently set up a nice new audio system and decided to give Roon a try. My plan was a NUC running Rock tucked away in the cabinet, using an iPad to access Rock and stream music from one or more services. First question - am I right in understanding that this setup would work?

I built the NUC today, NUC10i3 with 512G SSD and 16M memory. Following the install guide, I was able to get Rock installed and to boot up. The guide seems pretty outdated regarding the BIOS changes required, but I eventually figured that out. But now Rock boots up and it wants a network connection. Evidently I need this to up Codecs (I don’t really know what that means yet). But I only have a wifi connection available and can’t connect the NUC to wifi without entering the network password, which doesn’t seem to be possible. I don’t really have a way to hook up an ethernet connection. Any ideas on how to proceed?
Thanks.

1 Like

I didn’t think that ROCK actually activated the WiFi section of a newer NUC.

My suggestion is to relocate it next to your router and plug it in via ethernet would be my suggestion. it really needs to be on Ethernet anyway.

2 Likes

Wifi is not enabled on most NUCs. I know you said you cant hook it up through ethernet, you are going to need an internet connection full time to the NUC so it is best to find a way to hook it up to your network with an ethernet cable if possible. One other option is to use a USB WiFi dongle to connect to WiFi, but that is not recommended and probably won’t work well in the long term. You could also use a wireless router that you set up next to the NUC, connect it to the WiFi and then connect the NUC to it with a cable but again, not recommended. Another option would be to install Windows or Ubuntu as the OS to replace ROCK. Then you would install Roon Server and you would be able to run Roon that way. If you don’t mind me asking, why can’t you hook up to ethernet?