Lumin U1Mini - Leedh + Luxman L-509X

@wklie Hey Peter, I have the Lumin U1 Mini > USB to Holo Audio Spring 3 KTE DAC > Luxman L-509X integrated amp. I started using Leedh volume control today, but my Luxman manual does not mention the unity gain. I can use the Luxman as a dedicated amp, but that requires an RCA cable and I prefer using XLR from my Holo Audio DAC. So, is it proper to set the Lumin Leedh volume to 99db and control the volume with my Luxman integrated amp? I use my Lumin as a Roon endpoint and I noticed Leedh showed up in the Roon signal path! I prefer to use my integrated amp volume control, but the Leedh volume control sounds incredibly good! So, is there a detriment to the Leedh volume control by setting it to 99db and using my integrated amp volume control?

Thanks in advance!

have you tried using fixed instead of device volume for the endpoint?

Screen Shot 2022-02-07 at 7.42.21 PM

I had it set on fixed since I’ve been using Roon for several years and since I’ve owned the Lumin for about a week. I’ve found that Roon SQ is inferior to using the Lumin with its native app. So, I turned on Lumin Leedh volume control, which allows the user to use with Roon and it sounded extremely better than using Roon in fixed volume with the Lumin. I’m just focused on the best way to use the Lumin Leedh volume control. A Lumin representative should be able to assist me with this question.

Lumin volume max is 0dB. If you mean volume 99 out of 100, it means -0.5dB.

1. If you have multiple sources connected to the L-509X, then you have no choice but to use the preamp volume control, and keep the Lumin volume control turned off.

2. Otherwise, you may keep the XLR connection from the DAC, turn down the Lumin volume to a very low value, and turn up the preamp volume.

3. Alternatively, use the L-509X as power amp only, this necessitates the RCA output from the DAC. Again turn down the Lumin volume to a very low value, and turn up the preamp volume.