Mac Mini - will it wake up, if the remote tries to connect to the Roon core?

Hello to the forum! I‘m new here and new to Roon. I‘m about to set up my Mac mini as the core, with an iPhone as remote. Usually the mini goes to sleep if not used. Will it wake up, if the remote tries to connect to the core?

Hi!. I’ve been using a Mac Mini as Roon core for 8 months now, and when you use a remote (android phone/android tablet in my case) to control the core, it is always available (although I know Mac Mini was already “sleeping”), so I can make Roon works without any issue (sometimes a couple of seconds wait, as much).
Hope it helps!.

Thanks for your reply! That’s the way I’m hoping it will work. Will set it up as soon as I have time…

Can you please explain how you accomplished this? I have a similar setup (using a headless Mac Mini) and I always have to connect to the Mac Mini via VNC first, to wake the Roon Server. I have my Mac Mini set to ‘wake up at network access’.

Just another use case, I have my Roon Core on the new M1 MAC Mini (1TB & 16GB’s memory) and my Roon Server on a Late 2012 Mac Mini ( 1TB SSD and a 1TB HDD for BU’s…however I do use monitors for both. My iPad that uses Roon for control launches when I ever I call on it to play music…works flawlessly!

Meanwhile I can confirm that the sleeping Mini is available to the remote instantly.

Energy server settings in Mac OS (Catalina) are the defaults.

So far so good :+1:

1 Like

Sorry, but I have to ask… A core and a separate server? Since I‘m new to Roon, my understanding right now is not more than: core, remote(s), endpoint(s). What is that server for? Thanks.

Andreas,