Manually edit unidentified albums / become identified

Hi! I am very new to Roon, so forgive me of this request is unnecessary. My inner perfectionist is unhappy with how „unidentified“ works. I now accepted that some albums will never be in a database, e.g obscure German 80s punk bands. So I’ll just Tag them (tag „obscure German 80s Punk“) and would like to move on, and get them out of my unidentified folder. There seems no way to do so. Wouldn’t it be great to have a feature box to tick like „checked in database, tag added“ and then have this album out of that category? Thanks for your thoughts.

1 Like

I have a tag I call “pointless”. These are given to albums where no possible match exists.

When I focus on “unidentified”, I also subtract those with the “pointless” tag, leaving me with a set of “unidentified, yet hopefully identified” albums.

2 Likes

Nice workaround, thanks! However, I feel a software like Roon, which clearly is geared towards the enthusiast and perfectionist crowd, should have a way to get rid of the label “unidentified”. Hope someone from Roon reads this and would give me their perspective.

Some masking tape perchance? :slightly_smiling_face:

Most of my “unidentified” albums are truly identified with respect to its compositions and major credits. But still, that “badge of shame” shines on, a constant reminder of your library’s inferiority.

1 Like

Exactly. Cannot sleep until this is solved.

And I have albums I purposely keep unindentified.

If I may ask, why is that? What is the advantage?

Mainly Opera and for its inherent groupings of Act/Scene which is usually 100% screwed up when the opera is identified. Left unidentified, Roon will pick up the grouping queues from my files track titles and display it like I want. While I could go and use Work/Part, I don’t feel like spending the time to add fields to hundreds of tracks. Especially, when even if Identified, not much information or reviews are there anyway.