Memory ratio to Library Size

I’m new to Roon and noticed last night it had slowed up to a point of being barely usable. A little research showed it could be a memory issue and it was. I’m running the Core on Windows 10 and on checking task manager my 16gb of memory was at 85%, Roon taking up 3.5gb and (alarmingly) all those open Chrome tabs another 3gb and the rest of the programs of course. On closing Chrome Roon performance picked up again and was good (though its memory use expanded to 5gb!). I have a big library, 28,815 Albums and growing and 457,812 tracks so I assume that’s why so much memory is required? Anyway I have two free slots so ordering another 16gb to take it up to 32gb, hopefully all issues will go away then. Also going to test a lighter browser than Chrome. Anyone else had the same or can comment on keeping the software running efficiently??

If it were me, I’d have Roon on its own box. An additional 16gb fixes your immediate issue but doesn’t mitigate the fact that one bit of ransomware or a virus can mess up everything. That for me is a constant risk when browsing or doing general tasks on a mixed use PC.

2 Likes

Hey, Henry thanks, yes maybe eventually I can get it on a dedicated machine. Don’t tell me about ransomware, one wrong click on some bait and you are done. I had all my files including on my NAS infected! Luckily I back up everything so was able to wipe and re-install, but scary…