microRendu and Ethernet Hub

I finally go that microRendu working as I wanted in my living room. I cut a hole in my drywall to get an Ethernet cable directly from my router to the living room where the stereo resides. I have the following:

Benchmark DAC2 (must be set to usb 2.0 mode)
KEF LS50 Speakers (for now)
Parasound A23 amp (for now)
microRendu
ROON Server in a different room
iPhone. iPad, Android Moto X, Mac Mini, Windows 10 PC, Surface Pro as ROON clients.

The system is exactly what I wanted for a long time. The ROON READY works well and sounds great. Great job to all parties involved.

I just want to comment on one unusual observation and ask if anyone else has seen this behavior.

I have an xBox in the stereo room connected to my TV. I thought I would be extra smart and add a Netgear Ethernet hub (an old one) to the wire I had passed through the drywall. I then split out 2 Ethernet wires from the hub to the xBox and microRendu. I started playing some music from ROON while I watched the mlb.com baseball game from a live xBox stream. So I had 2 streaming sources getting extracting data from the source Ethernet wire (from my wall).

While watching the game and listening to music I noticed that the volume level of the music would vary. It was rather noticeable. After the game was over I shutdown the xBox, disconnect the Netgear hub and ran the source Ethernet directly to the microREndu. I then played the same CD again on ROON and this time the sound did not vary. It sounded correct.

I am going to conclude that it was the streaming noise from the baseball stream that was affecting the microRendu’s music stream from ROON OR I have a low quality Ethernet hub. Anyone have similar observations? If you are using a hub and do not have this problem, what Ethernet hub are you using?

These days you’d use a gigabit switch rather than a hub and the two streams should have no effect on one another.