USB SSD with the database

Networking Gear & Setup Details

Ethernet cable from NAS to amplifier via a switch

Connected Audio Devices

Yamaha RX-A3080 amplifier

Number of Tracks in Library

Description of Issue

Hello everyone,
I’m just beginning with Roon, and it’s quite complicated understanding how everything works together.
Automatically, Roon plays music to my home theater amplifier wirelessly via Airplay (downscaling 24 bytes to 16 bytes files).
Isn’t possible to play music via the ethernet cable ? (losslessly)
Like the NAS plays to the amplifier via AudioStation for example.

What home theater amplifier do you have? Never mind, see it now.

You’ll get the higher resolution and multi-channel using HDMI from core to AVR.

Roon uses it’s own streaming technique RAAT. So your amplifier needs to be Roon Ready to be able to process that and your Yamaha isn’t.
You need a steamer attached to your amplifier that is able to use Roon.

Edit: Or what Mike suggests.

Hello Mike and Joost,
Thanks for your quick answers.
The NAS is in another room than the amplifier, so HDMI cable is complicated (anyway, no HDMI port on my NAS).
That’s what I thought for your answer about the RAAT signal…
What about the streamer ? I guess it’s something plugged between the NAS and the amplifier ?
Ethernet cable on the NAS side, and audio cable on the amplifier side ?

No, the RAAT protocol is a network protocol. So the streamer needs a connection to your router. Preferably by Ethernet, but fast WiFi can work too.
I think your amplifier has digital audio in so you need a steamer with coax or optical audio out.

Yes, of course, there’s the router between the NAS and my amplifier…
Yes the amplifier has an optical and coax inputs. By the way, which of them would you recommand for this use (Hi-res) ? Do they have the same “quality” ?