My Nucleus shuts off on it's own

Two problems. My Roon Nucleus powers up okay, but a few hours later, it shuts down on it’s own. Is this normal? I wouldn’t think so.
Second, I was using my iMac as my core, and I was able to add music folders from an external hard drive without a problem. But when I switched to using the nucleus as the core, I can’t figure out how to add those same music folders. It seems to want me to type in the whole directory rather than browse my computer network for the folders I want.
HELP!

It isn’t normal for it to shutdown on its own. There may be something in the logs that can help identify what’s going on, but afraid I’ve no experience with this. But definitely not a good sign!

Once you add the network share - you can browse. So you need to add the network share - which will be something like //computer/share. Then you’ll be able to pick a directory from that share.

But you can’t browse the top level network shares the way you can on a windows / mac machine.

Thanks for your reply. So in the next few days my distributor will be coming to help me with the setup and fine tune my Control4 system and make sure all is integrated properly.
Good news, this morning the Nucleus is powered on!
In the meantime, do you know of a way to generate a log?
And how do I figure out exactly what to type in for my network share? Would it be my computer name, or my user name, and do I put in the word “share”. I can send you a screen shot of my Finder window.
Marc

If the directory you’re sharing is on a Mac - take a look at System Preferences - Sharing.

That will give you the machine name.

The share name is just the name of the directory you are sharing.

So if the machine is called “MarcMac” and the shared directory is called “MarcMusic” the SMB path will be \MarcMac\MarcMusic