My personal experience with Roon and an iPhone 12 Mini

I’ve used Roon for quite a while now and read a lot of the community posts, especially the feature requests. While I don’t agree with the aggressive tone of some of the requests, I do understand the frustration. Often basic feature requests, like features that every other music app has, are dismissed. Or features exist but users are basically told to get used to the way it works, even if it’s a bad experience.

Before I go into the issues I have with the Roon iOS app, here is some context:

• I’m a software developer who happens to care a lot about the whole user experience. When users are asked what they think about your app I consider the best response to be “oh I don’t know, it just works!”. I remember Spotify being like that in the old days (the user experience is horrible right now).
  • I have high end audio equipment that supports Roon
  • I have both Tidal and Qobuz subscriptions
  • I only have a tiny local library
  • I use my iPhone 12 Mini as a Roon remote (accounts for 97%+ of my Roon usage)
  • I use my Mac when I want a bigger screen, usually for music discovery
  • I use mostly basic features, which should ‘just work’
  • I expect to be able to use the app with mostly one hand. This means having all the common controls in reach of my thumb

Now here are my issues with the current state of the iOS app on an iphone:

Issue 1
When viewing the tracks of an album, by default it only shows the tracks that are in your library. In general I really like that feature. When I navigate to an album it’s nice to see which tracks are in the library because most likely I want to play those.

The problems start when you are exploring and don’t have any of the album tracks added to your library yet.

Scenario:
You start listening to the tracks, you really like one of them, and you add it to the library.

My expectation: