Network Traffic with Roon and Melco

I’ve been using Roon on a Mac Mini for a few years, and love it. I’ve got a large music library, and use the usual streaming services to augment that. That’s why Roon works so well for me.

I’ve got a high end system - all Naim - and am in pursuit of the best sound I can get.

I’ve borrowed a Melco Server - and connected it directly to the Naim 555 streamer - fully expecting to hear improvements in sound quality (I did) and fully expecting to find operating it and finding music really clunky (I also did!) - so I’ve realised that I can add that library to Roon via the share - and I’ve done that - all the music on the Melco integrated into my Roon library, best of both worlds? …well that’s the question….

So if I stream a track - will it go via Roon? …or is Roon just a control point?

Ideally the answer is that the music data goes directly from the Melco device, and into the Naim.

The scenario I worry about is that it’s going from the Melco, through multiple network switches to the Mac Mini where Roon will then serve it back out (via the same series of network switches in reverse) to the Melco and into the Naim Streamer. I’m thinking that scenario will negate all the positives that the Melco brings, and I may as well stick to the USB connected storage on the Mac Mini.

So - any network wizzes able to put my mind at rest either way?