New Roon setup - connecting to external devices and ripping CD

Hi all, soon newbie here, so please forgive me if this is a bit basic.

I have Roon core running on an iMac (soon to be transferred to a headless Mac mini)
Music library stored on a Synology DS918+ NAS. For this, I basically pointed Roon at the iTunes music folder on the NAS. Am I correct in thinking this is better than just running Roon on the NAS

Speakers are all Sonos, mix of 1’s, 3’s and 5’s except Marantz amp/cd with Mordaunt Short speakers connected via a Sonos bridge. I’m not wedded to Sonos but this has been the best solution so far.

Playing mostly my music library, but looking at a Tidal or Qobuz subscription.

My main motivation for switching was to ditch Apple Music, which is almost unworkable now, just keeps adding duplicates and is generally not very good.

1. I would like to connect a Ruark R3. It has optical, and RCA line in. Can I do that? What would I need? I have an offline hifi I’d like to resurrect, which also has line in/optical on the amp. Same question. I have read about the bridge, but confess I don’t fully understand it. I’m looking for a device (like the Sonos bridge) to do that.

2. I’ve heard lots about DACS. I know what a DAC is, but I’m not sure what it’s used for. Can anyone explain that for me, in fairly simple terms please?

3. I’m still buying CD’s and building up my own library. Can anyone give me a short “how to” of what you use to rip a CD and add it to the Roon library please?

thanks for your help everyone

Just a correction - I mean Sonos Connect, not Sonos Bridge

DAC is digital to analog converter, it is the chip which takes the digital file and turns it into audio. So, a very important price of the equation.

I rip with dbPoweramp ona separate.PC. when done and meta data corrected, I move the folder with the files to an area watched by Roon.

That could be DBPowerAmp iirc…

1 Like

None the wiser. I know it converts a signal, but where is it it required?