New to Roon from iTunes

I am new to Roon and planning to switch from iTunes as my MAC music media center. I love the interface and have a few initial questions which I cannot find answers to before my trial ends.

1. The application continues to have me sign in. If my internet is down, does that mean I cannot play my local music?

2. I cannot find a way to include the Marantz 7013 as an output (not Airplay) and group it with the other VSSL 12 Airplay Zone Devices around our home so the Marantz is playing the same music as the other “grouped” Airplay zones. Only way I see to make that work is to use Airplay on the Marantz.

3. My iTunes library XML contains 1,618 Albums and 24,446 Songs. The Roon import shows only 1,453 Albums and 24,431 Songs. Is is also not carrying over 90% of the genre data and not sure how to resolve this.

4. Under Album Editor Preferences, all the preferences are unchecked seems by default, should that come across from the iTunes XML?

Thank you so much in advance for all your help.

Ron

All your music should be in your music folder. Make a copy of your music files to a usb drive. Delete I tunes. Let Roon fill in the meta data.

Sometimes iTunes creates a new folder by default if it can not locate what folder was initially linked. Upon reboot, it will re-locate the main folder. To check and see if you have music files outside of the folder you have pointed Roon to, open Finder on your Mac. Then type in the extension of your music files and search the drives that you use (.mp4, .mp3, etc.). Once it runs, You can sort in detail view by location. This can help determine if iTunes put some files in an area you didn’t realize it was putting them.