Now Playing Some Jazz

I hope I’m not stepping on any toes here but I couldn’t see a Jazz-specific category in the Music section so thought I’d start one. I’ve been listening to the genre for ten years now but there’s so much I still don’t know and I’m always curious to discover something new, or new to me. What Jazz have you been listening to lately? How did you discover it?

1 Like

I’ll kick things off with my current listen: Salute to the Sun – Live at Hallé St. Peter’s
by Matthew Halsall. I know it’s not for everyone but I love the Spiritual Jazz revival that’s happened here in the UK and this is a prime example. Really nicely recorded, and excellent performances all round. I used to find jazz flute a bit cringe (possibly that scene in Anchorman did not help!) but now it’s one of my favourite instruments, and fits really well with the trumpet and harp here.

3 Likes

Jean-Luc Ponty is probably my favorite violinist who plays jazz, he can make the violin sing, it’s quite delightful! Stuff Smith is excellent too :smiley:

6 Likes

@Chris_I

It’s always good to have another Jazz themed thread going in the Music section so no toes stepped on.

I did a search for “jazz” in the Music section and got these results - there are several very worthwhile threads among those listed.

Here’s a new release I was just listening to. I usually “discover” new music via new releases in on Tidal and Qobuz or via a post on one of the many music blogs I follow or via hearing on the radio or SiriusXM’s “Real Jazz” channel (although Sirius tends not to play anything too adventurous).

3 Likes

A little Sonny Clark to make the morning crackle.

13 Likes

RoonShareImage-637753662777943700

2 Likes

RoonShareImage-637753664139093220

1 Like

Does anyone else feel that the DJ on KCSM might be a bit too fond of the Hammond B3 organ?

There’s nothing wrong with the B3 :wink: