NUC new build opinions

Hi all,

I am looking to buy a NUC and I wanted to get people’s opinions that I am ordering the correct kit and whether I need to think about anything else.

I have an annual subscription currently, I am a Tidal subscriber and I run the Roon Core on my PC currently in my office. I use a Samsung Galaxy S7 phone and Hudl 2 tablet to control (in addition to PC). The Roon end points are on wired connections via homeplugs (see below for details). I have been experimenting with the DSP and I am currently upscaling to DSD 256 and 24/652 but not generally at the same time.

The rest of my set-up;

Lounge
• Internet enters here into a BT Homehub 5 (modem/router/wifi access point)
• I then run the internet into a Devolo 1200 homeplug (no wifi capability)
• Roon end point - Raspberry Pi 3 (with IQAudio DAC HAT) connected to router (and onto Denon amp and Monitor Audio Speakers)

Office
• I use a Devolo 1200 Homeplug to access the internet (no wifi capability) which runs to a switch
• I connect my PC to the switch - Roon Core runs on PC - (connected to Arcam irDACII and Adam F5 speakers)
• Above this room is a further Devolo 1200 Homeplug with wifi extending capability

Kitchen
• I have a Sonos Play 1 as Roon endpoint
• The Sonos is connected to a Devolo 1200 Homeplug via ethernet- this also has wifi

So I want to buy a NUC to replace the Core on my PC. I have done some reading and the kit I think I need is as follows;
• NUC - Intel ® NUC7I7BNH (7567U processor) Micro Intel® 3500 MHz SOC, IRIS PLUS 650
• RAM - Crucial CT8G4SFD824A 8GB DDR4 2400 MT/s (PC4-19200) DR x8 SODIMM 260-Pin
• ROCK HDD - TCSUNBOW M.2 SATAIII NGFF32 GB 64GB 120GB 240GB Solid State Drive Disk (22*42mm ) (120GB)
• Database HD - Seagate Expansion 3 TB USB 3.0 Portable 2.5 inch External Hard Drive

I would be plugging the NUC into an extension cable for power and into the office switch via Ethernet.