Nuclueus - where to buy

I am looking at a few options and Nucleus could be one of them.
I have a one room set up and only have about 2000 albums , and now I listen mostly to Tidal.
I would need a HD in the Nucleus and in the UK cant seem to find many outlets that offer the product.
I read in a review somewhere it can be bought direct from Roon, would they install the HD for me as I am not good with PCs etc,
Any help appreciated

Fitting a hard drive to a NUC is just a case of taking the lid off the NUC and sliding the disk into the existing cradle and then attaching the screws to hold it there, a 5 minute job at most, there is no configuration required, see this disk install video.
If you want to buy one on the Roon Nucleus or Nucleus+ they can be found here. if you plan on having it in your hifi rack or near where you listen the the Nucleus has the advantage of being totally silent, if you plan on having it outside your listening room then the NUC would be fine, there is a substantial cost difference to be considered, I just built a NUC7i5bnh with 16gb of memory and a 250gb SSD for ÂŁ515, all components from Amazon and a total build time from bits to Roon running of less than one hour.

2 Likes

I’d imagine Strictly Stereo or Putite Audio would be good bets for this. If you contact them both Lee and Keith are responsive to emails and seem to be good guys to deal with.

.sjb

Thanks for the posts guys. I have read a bit about the Nucleus and with my set up the entry model would suffice, but what would I gain if I got the Plus model. Would it be more future proof or is it only really needed for large collections and multi room?

If you plan to do upsampling to DSD and or dsp eq etc then the i7 May be preferable.

It’s distributed in the UK by Henley Audio, who have a dealer locator on their website here