Oversampling for NAD C 658 DAC?

Hello, pretty much a newbie here. I have a new NAD C568 DAC-Preamp. I understand that most DACs will oversample the incoming signal to the DAC’s “optimal” level. With that in mind:

1. Does anyone know if the 568 oversamples, and if so to what rate?
  2. Should I use oversampling from Roon with this DAC, and if so at what value?

Thank you in advance for any help.

Hi Gianfri,

Have you tried asking NAD’s tech support. They seem like the perfect source for a definitive answer.

This information is readily available from the NAD website. The C568 datasheet says that it uses the Cirrus Logic WM8741 DAC chip, which has a maximum sample-rate of 192kHz.

Like any Delta-Sigma DAC, it internally upsamples any PCM input to the maximum (192kHz or 176.4kHz) before feeding it to the Delta-Sigma modulator. Pages 54-58 of the datasheet contain graphs which should give you a pretty good idea of how good the reconstruction filters of the WM8741 are (and hence whether it’s worthwhile “bypassing” them by doing the upsampling in Roon).

Edit: Umh … maybe you mean the C658, not the C568? As @Fernando_Pereira says, that uses an ESS SABRE DAC chip (the ES9028PRO), with a maximum sample rate of 384kHz.

1. It uses an ESS Sabre delta-sigma chip. Those oversample a lot, at least 8x in a first stage, and then again to reduce jitter before the delta-sigma modulator.
  2. Your ears should be the guide. I’d start with no Roon oversampling. If you feel something is wanting, then play with Roon oversampling.