Playing DSD 256 files via Squeezebox to the Nagra Classic DAC

Core Machine (Operating system/System info/Roon build number)

Innuos Zenith MkIII / Roon Vs. 1.7 (build 667)

Network Details (Including networking gear model/manufacturer and if on WiFi/Ethernet)

Ethernet LAN

Audio Devices (Specify what device you’re using and its connection type - USB/HDMI/etc.)

via USB to Nagra Classic DAC

Description Of Issue

Wanted to play a DSD 256 File. Have configured the squeezebox as reported in “Audio Set Up Basics” (Roon support center)

Although my DAC is capable to play DSD 256, only a “DSD 64” signal arrives at the DAC. How could I make to get the full DSD 256 audio stream to the DAC using Squeezelite/Squeezebox?

Thx so much, regards, Michael

Any reason you are using one of the worst streaming options to a very expensive dac?

2 Likes

The limitation is in the squeezebox, it won’t support higher streams. To get 256 you would need to replace it.

Sorry to say, I am a real beginner and currently testing this expensive DAC.

Could you explain what you think? Why is it the worst option? What would be your suggestion? Thx for your help

@ged_hickman1
Thx for your comment.
I am really new in the field and was told that the squeezebox is an excellent option within the Roon environment.

My primary aim is to enjoy music. I do not know whether this expensive DAC (which I can test for a week) is really worth the money and whether high resolution files are really audible.

In addition, I have learned that cleverly adapting Roon improves sound quality much more than upgrading the hardware (I own the Innuos zenith as Roon core).

Thx for your help, Michael

I’m out at the moment but if it’s connected via usb to the zenith, you should see it shown in the audio tab under settings as connected to this core. This is the zone to which you should be playing to, and unless you have other Squeezebox equipment you should turn off the Squeezebox option in Roon

What do you mean wise guy?