Playlists - Easy and straightforward

Hi there.
I am totally new to Roon, I have just put a NUC + Rock + 1 TB SSD internal storage into operation. I am coming from a Sonos system feeding my stereo hifi system (and don’t want or need multi-room). I chose Roon firstly due to improvement in sound quality, secondly because of the enhanced database functionality.
Here is my problems: (1) Playlists seem to me to function very strangely and (2) Why are Folders not available?

Playlists: like in Sonos I just want to be able to create playlists and then play them in any order I like without any changes or re-ordering. E.g. if I have a playlist with 10 songs, I simply want to be able to play # 1 then perhaps # 6 and then # 2 - if I don’t tab or click any other song after that, then my playlist should continue the sequence from # 2 all the way to # 10 and then it should stop.
If I try to do this using my iPhone or (Android-) tablet, Roon changes the playlist queue! Why? If I choose # 6 then Roon transfers it to the end-of-the queue and breaks the sequence. From a listening point of view, Roon destroys my Playlist - yes I know it is saved in its original shape/sequence, but it is of no use if you cannot keep the sequence while listening. This is awfully annoying and almost makes Roon unusable to me.
Can it really be true that you cannot keep your playlist or queue if you just want to jump around a bit?
All other music players I have tried (like Clementine, Amarok, iphone music player, car stereo, etc etc) works in a “normal” and predictable way - keeping the sequence of songs while letting you jump around as you like.

Folders: when creating playlists it is much easier and a LOT faster for me to use folders, than to search Roon for this album or that.
Of course Clementine and Amarok are PC based and thus it is easy to use folders. But even Sonos allows you to go to your Library and scroll down to Folders and then continue from there.