Popping Sounds in Roon

Hi,

I have been using roon for a few years now and have encountered a new problem. My computer is both the source and controller for Roon. I run music via Tidal and an external harddrive to my dragonfly red DAC, and from there to an LCX headphone amp. The amp also has a built in SDAC dac that I have used in trying to diagnose what’s going on.

I get occasional and very annyoning crackles and pops in my music. I can’t remember when I first started noticing this, but at first, I thought it was an issue for plugging my DAC into a noisy hub instead of the less but still noisy USB port as I had for years. At first I thought that fixed it, but now the popping is back in full force, both for streamed and local files. I used Tidal from my phone to determine that the problem is not my amp or the headphones themselves, as running audio from the phone to the amp sounds clean.

I have also tested listening directly from the Tidal App instead of through roon. And weirdly, while my Dragonfly Red has problems, the SDAC is pop-free.

I don’t really know where to go from here. It seems like there is at least a problem with roon since Tidal app > SDAC > Amp sounds fine, but Roon > SDAC > Amp does not.

Any help would be appreciated! I’m a bit at my wits end.

gratefully,
Quinn

2 Likes

Does this help?

I’m a novice technically, so it is hard for me to parse some of these discussions, especially since my set up is so much simpler than what most people are running. I could not find a solution that made sense to me in these posts. The latter suggested updating the remote app worked; I have updated Roon a handful of times in the past few months and the popping has persisted.

The first thread then linked to another thread which suggested an update of roon did the trick.

But again, I may just not be reading these right to find what I need.