Portable ROCK and Roon

G’day,

I’m a complete newbie to this stuff so I thus have many ideas and questions.

I’m about to start ripping my collection of CDs to FLAC. Music files to be stored on one of my Synology 216play NAS units. Figure I’ll then setup a ROCK server to manage the music files and deliver them up to various sound systems about the house. Control via Roon Bridge on an Android tablet dedicated to the job.

Now here is where it gets interesting. Music on the move is important to me. Can I use Roon on the move? That is, in the car, on a plane, in a hotel room, at work etc.

I can sync/copy the music files onto a portable USB 3.0 drive. Can I sync two ROCK servers? Or does the second ROCK server have to build its own database from the music files on the portable USB drive?

How could I create a portable ROCK server? Would a battery powered Raspberry Pi with a USB 3.0 SSD drive be powerful enough? If not, what would be?

Plug the portable drive into the portable ROCK server. WiFi connect the ROCK server to a portable Roon Bridge, e.g. another Android tablet. USB out from the tablet into something like a DragonFly Red. Line out to line in of car audio, or headphones on a plane, or portable speakers in a hotel room, or fixed speakers at work.

Is this something one could do, or am I just dreaming?

Will I just have to put my FLAC files onto some suitable portable music player, e.g. FiiO X7 mark II, and use its less elegant interface?

Best regards, Lloyd Borrett.

Roon is pretty much (at this point in time) a home or fixed location setup…i.e no planes trains or automobiles or other mobile operation without a great deal of infrastructure to move around with.

having the core run in different locations or locally on a laptop is doable if your music is accessible (USB probably) but you will need internet connectivity so that rules out a lot of options…and speedy internet is desirable.