Pre Nucleus purchase help questions

Hi, I’m considering getting a Nucleus basic model as I’m not interested in any form of software upscale, I’ve always found the cleanest, short unaltered path to DAC as the best sound quality. computer audio sound quality in my experience is about less interference.

But anyway, obviously the best way to find out the best sound is to experiment and try which set up sounds best to you, as of course sound is subjective to many factors relating to equipment, room, personnel interpretation…

However my difficulty is I’m paralysed from the neck down, but have enough movement in my left bicep to just about use an iPad with the side of my hand, but no finger control. Before injury I was an electrician and since have done a physics degree, so have a general understanding.

The problem with this is I’m completely reliant on my carer/pa to do everything, under my instruction. But it means I can’t try different set ups and swap connections around too much as it would take too much time. So I usually try to work out the best solution before connecting everything up by asking those more experienced for advice and suggestions.

Presently I’m using Roon core and output on the same Mac mini, with USB cable connected to Mytek Brooklyn DAC. But Ive read many times that separating core and “end point” should yield much better sound.

Mac mini isn’t modified in any way, late 2012 internal SSD, audio files are on an external FireWire HDD.

So, a few questions, considering when I purchase the Nucleus I cant also afford a new network device to connect to my DAC yet.

1. Would it better to connect my DAC directly to the Nucleus, or use my Mac mini as the network output and connect my DAC to Mac mini?
  2. I have quite a lot of experience with different USB cables, but how does the Nucleus “send” audio to a network output, does that mean the quality of the Ethernet cable is as important as a USB cable to DAC, or does it just need decent shielding?