Presetting volume before playing

Hi all, just blasted out the house at 6.00am because the volume jumped back up to last night’s volume.

The volume setting in Roon for my Roon Ready speakers was left at 57 from last night. This morning, on the laptop, I reduced the volume to 20 before I started playing the radio. However when I pressd play, the volume automatically jumped back up to 57.

Can anyone guide me in not blasting out the house in the mornings and not scrabbling about trying to quickly turn the volume down.

set volume limits…

you omitted any details of your setup so cant really offer much else.

2 Likes

Hi, sorry about that - I posted it in the general forum before I realised I should have posted it here.

Here is my setup, let me know what else you need - thanks Wizardofoz

Roon Core Machine

Windows 11 Dell Inspiron 17 3000 Laptop with Intel Core i5 with 8gb RAM

Networking Gear & Setup Details

On WIFI 4 router averaging 30mbs

Connected Audio Devices

Bowers & Wilkins Wedge, linked to internet with ethernet cable. Connecting to Roon via Roon Ready

Number of Tracks in Library

21,317 tracks

It happened again this morning but my end volume of last night was 30 so didn’t blast the house out as much!

I haven’t set any volume limits because I don’t need to limit the volume overall. I only want to reduce the volume first thing in the morning where I try and set the volume at 20 but as soon as I press play, the volume jumps back to the volume level of the last time it was played.

Hey @Tim_Clegg,

Thanks for following up with details. And thanks @wizardofoz for chiming in.

I don’t believe there is a better solution than setting volume limits for the device, as @wizardofoz has said. Maybe you can consider setting comfort limits, which you can bypass by using the + and - buttons. We explain all the ways you can use volume limits here:

Thanks @beka however, unfortunately that doesn’t appear to have fixed my issue.