Problems ripping cd's

Core Machine (Win 10 64 bit/Pentium 1.5Ghz/ roon 1.7 (571)

Hello.

Just come off the 14 day trial and have installed a CD room on the unit so that I could rip cd’s (i.e. I have read online that this was possible when using the more recent versions of roon - Roon OS CD rom).

Win 10 recognizes the drive and plays the cd’s, but with roon, nothing happens.

Other things that may be worth mentioning:

• I have also noticed that I have a banner on the top day says “… 0 days left”

• I’m new to roon :slight_smile:

To rip CDs thru Roon, you need either a Roon Nucleus or to be running ROCK.

BTW - How is Roon running for you. Your Core machine seems a little under-spec.

Hellloooooo.

Thank you for the reply!

I’m surprised with the reply, since I had assumed that the CORE would do everything.

One further question… what is “ROCK”?

Thank youuuu

ROCK Is a free Roon supplied OS.

It can be installed on many machines, but preferably on an Intel NUC.

It will wipe out any pre-existing OS, so it can’t be used in conjunction with your WIN10 Core.

Its sole purpose is to run Roon, so once it’s installed on a machine, that’s all that machine can do.

https://kb.roonlabs.com/ROCK:_Getting_Started

Thank you for your help.

From what you are saying, it’s easier to find something else to do the ripping…

Many people, myself included, use dBpoweramp.

1 Like

That’s probably my route as well.

Shame that Roon does not cater for this…

Hi @Rui_P,

As @xxx mentioned, ripping CDs is only supported in Roon for ROCK and Nucleus products, so if you have a Windows PC, you’ll want to use another program to perform the ripping. Hope this helps!

1 Like

New Roon users generally start out with the core running on whatever machine they have during the trail. I started out using my desktop and used dbpoweramp for ripping as Slim and Noris mentioned.