Propagation of energy through the EMF

Earlier today in Rugby’s Weekly Google Meet, Ryan (@ipeverywhere) mentioned the recent Veritasium video (linked below) and wondered if it had any implications for discussions of cables and audio.

Not knowing the answer I thought I would open this thread and link some relevant videos to spark discussion:

My first exposure to these ideas of classical electrodynamics was The Science Asylum.

This is the recent Veritasium video.

This RSD Academy video and follow up and second follow up continue the discussion.

And then this point of contention from Tycho, who asks a lot of the questions I had.

Edit: As I understand it, Tycho is suggesting that the time to light the bulb will be 1 second rather than 10 exp -9 seconds.

Time to turn the thought experiment into an actual experiment and see with whom the real world agrees.

Edit: Another doubter.

Edit: It’s 1/c with a sensitive bulb but grows brighter later.

1 Like

Thanks Andy! As a physicist, I found this fascinating. I didn’t watch all videos, just Veritasium and Tycho, and based on my own knowledge, I have to give it to Tycho. For one, Veritasium takes the properties of a stationary system and applies them to a dynamic one. Then, it’s obvious that wires play a crucial role in energy transmission (that’s easy to explain intuitively, but it would take a while) so their length does make a difference. Bottom line, I don’t think this changes current understanding of cables.

1 Like

Electroboom… It’s good

I’m still gather on my thoughts on how this impacts our precious audio cables :slight_smile:

2 Likes