Pushing software changes

Ok now I have to say it I have been using Roon for close to 2 years and have been loving it. The problem is software creep, I was it manager for 25 yrs and have witnessed this too many times. You keep pushing out software “ upgrades” at a faster pace and what you are actually doing is downgrades. At this point my meta data quit updating, one of my 6 endpoints started dropping out and Qobuz is not connecting . You have to go slower and verify software is actually functioning properly on all platforms and do not keep bulking up the code so it won’t run on minimal platforms. Also keep in mind sometimes people who keep making request for changes may be whiners in nature ( I know I will get flamed for that but have whitenesses this first hand).
Bill

9 Likes

Freudian slip??

Spell checking likes to make fun of me. After 25 years IT it is my punishment.
Bill

5 Likes

…for this reason, there will surely be a new release soon and the team is waiting after your recommendation until there is more certainty from the testing that is already underway.

Who wanted could be unlocked for it. The support is newly set up has communicated much to the status. Temporarily solve many problems with a complete reboot of all devices, main memory upgrade, change of remote control devices… all topics you surely know or have read about. Still, everyone here understands how you feel.

1 Like

I understand how difficult it is because of the variation of the hardware platforms. I am using a I5 nuc with ropiee endpoints and they did work flawless for over a year. I would hate to loose this music platform as it does everything I could ask for the way it is.

Bill

I read this configuration here more often and there too reboots from the router to the audio device brought dead machines back to life. Suddenly everything went faster, the audio devices were back and the login to the services worked.