QNAP reinstall issues

I have been running RoonServer on an SSD in my QNAP 451+ for 2 years maybe? Everything was great. Then inexplicably, my SSD drive died. (I didn’t think that was supposed to happen!) I replaced it with a new one and reinstalled RoonServer on it from the AppStore. I selected RoonServer folder to store the database. But when I launch Roon on my computer, it just stops at the Choose core screen where it says “Initializing…” and nothing ever happens. Can you tell me what preferences or whatever I can delete to get it moving again? Thanks!

When you installed the new SSD and then installed Roon Server did you first create a directory called RoonServer? This is where you need to install the Roon Server software. Easy to miss/skip this step.

Oops I see that you did that. I missed that.

Yes. The weird thing is there’s nothing in that folder - no subfolders, etc. Yet when I click on RoonServer in the App Center, it says the status is Running. I can’t see any evidence that it is actually installed anywhere, but it is running.

It must have installed in the wrong place. Maybe on your storage drives?

I just deleted and redownloaded and again pointed to that volume. Now it created a folder called Roon and RoonServer is inside. How should it be?

It should be in RoonServer, not Roon. Move it from Roon to the root directory and you sold be good to go.

You shouldn’t install the qkpg on the SSD itself.

I believe he said he installed the qkpg on the QNAP and them used the app that was created on the QNAP to install RoonServer.

This is what he said:

The qkpg should be installed on DataVol1.

On my QNAP DataVol1 is my SSD. The qkpg is the app that gets installed from the App Center on the QNAP. You run the install from the App Center to install RoonServer on the SSD. Are we saying the same thing?

No. You do not put the app on the SSD. There should be a shared folder called Roonserver on the SSD and that’s it.