R/2R DAC w/MQA support - suggestions or ideas

I’m looking to add an R/2R DAC to my stereo listening setup which is currently as follows:

Innuos Zenith MK3 running as Roon Core
Hegel 590 Amp (USB)
Paradigm Persona 3F speakers

Note: also have a Node2i going into the optical input on the Hegel for multi room setup with a few other Nodes and an Anthem MRX 1120 for Dolby Atmos but these and the game consoles are irrelevant to the question.

I’ve been reading good reviews for Schitt, Denafrips, Musician Pegasus (all of which will probably improve SQ over the built in H590 DAC) but I’m concerned about potential compatibility issues and also curious to know how MQA would be handled given that none of the supports MQA oob.

Most DACs I found that support MQA are Delta Sigma (e.g. dCS, Moon, BelCanto, Soekris) and come bundled as streamers or bridges which I don’t want to add to the mix.

I’m still a newb on this and just looking for ideas, suggestions, guidance, gotchas or experiences you folks can provide.

Thanks,
Luis

1 Like

Metrum Sonnet (which I own and like) is an R/2R DAC that offers an MQA option (which I don’t have).

2 Likes

I believe any manufacturer who wants to integrate MQA decoding into their DACs need to submit schematics as well as the hardware to MQA Ltd for testing. Especially when it come to discrete R2R circuits are proprietary designs when compared to off shelves delta sigma IC chips.

I don’t see the point of doing MQA decoding on a DAC as Roon is capable of doing it.

1 Like

dCS is FPGA, not delta sigma. And they do MQA. At a price, obviously

2 Likes

Exactly but FPGA is a programmable chip not discrete R2R circuitry like in Denafrips and Holo Spring Audio. These are all hardware proprietaries can be easily copied. Manufacturers normally don’t disclose schematics.

2 Likes

Thanks so much for the replies so far, this is very informative.