Recommend me a whole house setup

Hi,

I’m new to Roon and trying to work out if it’s right for me. I love the ability of being able to stream music around the house. My Apple Homepods are too unreliable (poor WiFi possibly).

I have chrome cast built into my tv and being able to show the album art is great but i don’t believe I can play the same track on multiple chrome cast video.

So what’s the best hardware set up (on a budget £1k?) spread across multiple audio/video devices?

Airplay 2 support I’m guessing would solve my question?

For Core machine an i3 or i5 NUC, depending on the size of your music collection and whether you want to use DSP. If Roon is going to be its sole use then ROCK, otherwise WIN10.

For now, until you have some experience, use an RPi type SBC, running either DietPi or Ropieee OS, as your endpoints.

You don’t say whether you can run Ethernet cable or not. Ethernet is the preferred way to go. Next would be WiFi and dead last Airplay. The SQ on Airplay is terrible, IMHO.

People will have additions and other opinions, but these are mine, for a start.

Everything considered, with five endpoints or so, will probably run around $1K or whatever that is in Brit money. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Since you mentioned that you may have poor wifi, you need to determine if you can run ethernet to the locations you want to use an endpoint. If you can’t run ethernet, then you need to resolve your wifi issues first.

Perhaps moving your wifi AP might help. There are quite a few phone based apps that will measure signal strength. If moving doesn’t help you may want to consider a wireless bridge in the weak areas, a more powerful/advanced AP, or look into a mesh wifi solution if your home is too big for a single AP.