Recommendations for a good start

Hi every one,

I plan to migrate my system to Roon.
There are so many things to read about this great music solution that I am a bit lost. It would be great if you could help me with the following specific questions.

Here is what I used to play music with before moving to Roon:
NAS storage > LMS server (17K albums) > allo USB bridge (squeezelite) > Chord Qutest DAC > etc… using the android and IOS corresponding control apps

I am very new to Roon. Sorry if that sound obvious.
Here are my questions:

1. I bet I need a NUC with i7 processor as recommended by Roon team support due to the size of my library(17K albums), is it correct? Is the NUC7i7BNH still the solution to purchase for that? Is there any other option for a “hiden” and silent dedicated computer? any fan-less option?
  2. If I get the NUC and install Roon Rock on it, should I plug the Chord Qutest directly to the NUC over USB or should I use my Allo USB bridge as a NAA or DLNA or squeezeelite to transport the music to the DAC? What is the best option?
  3. Can upsampling be configured on the solution in order to boost my Qutest DAC? PCM up to 384 or even 768kHz?

Thanks in advance for your help,
Have a good music everyone

1. An i7 will suit your needs. 16 Gb Ram. Sure if you want to go with a NUC that one works. Just make sure it is a model listed as authorized hardware. Not sure the new 8 series are yet. Double Check the ROCK FAQ page.
    I personally build my own desktop size servers. After all, for me, one of the points of Roon is that the server sits in another room far away from the audio playback hardware.

2. The Allo USB Bridge and it should have a setting for Roon alongside the NAA , DLNA and Squeezelite options. I use an Allo DigiOne and it is great.