Ripping CDs to Roon NUC

Hi, I’m fairly new to Roon, and so far I’m very happy with it. I have the software installed on a dedicated NUC, which also contains an SSD on which I put albums I buy from Bandcamp or Qobuz. I would like to rip some of my CDs to this SSD.
I attached a cd drive to this NUC a couple of months ago, and could rip one cd. It stopped working after that, but I was told this was a known issue, and might be resolved when version 8 came out. This version has now been released, but the ripping still does not work.
I have two questions:

Is ripping working for some people? If so, how?

I did use EAC on my PC to convert a CD to FLAC, which I then copied to the SSD in the NUC. That worked, but it took about an hour for EAC to do its thing. Is it necessary to convert to FLAC or are there more efficient ways of putting the occasional album on the SSD?

Many thanks

Dbpoweramp seems to be the ripping software of choice around here.
Not sure why EAC taking so long.
On average about 6 minutes to rip an album to flac through Dbpoweramp and then 10 seconds or so to transfer it to the SSD inside my nuc.

I think they do a 30 day free trial so you can get a feel for it before paying.

2 Likes

I think EAC or Dbpoweramp is the way to go.

I am currently using EAC with accruate rip + test run and I am very happy. I don’t care if it takes 5min or 1 hour. If proper setup and settings you only do it once :wink:

1 Like

I’m with these gent’s. Thousands of CDs ripped with dbPoweramp without issue.
Great bit of software

3 Likes

Did you follow a guide to setup EAC? My rips take over an hour also, but my configuration is quite extreme to guarantee a perfect rip. If you’re doing test & copy etc it will take a while for sure.

Yes, I did follow a guide partially and I also make sure to use a popular drive when ripping.
Mp3tag (free) is a tool I also use to edit the metadata.

Good to know, thanks. I might give Dbpoweramp a go.

1 Like