Rock boots to blank screen

I’ve been running Roon Core on a NUC6i5 for a while under Windows 10. No problems. I tried to convert the NUC to a ROCK server. I’m running the most up to date BIOS. I reset and made all of the BIOS settings exactly as suggested in the installation guide. I installed ROCK on the NUC with no problems. I got to the “RoonOS Install is complete! Please remove your USB installer and hit enter to reboot”. At that point, when I reboot the NUC all that I get is a blank screen with a flashing cursor. No keyboard input is recognized and the NUC is otherwise completely unresponsive. No Roon devices show on my network.

I’ve tried to reinstall several times. I left the NUC sitting with the flashing cursor for several hours thinking maybe it was updating something but nothing ever changed. The NUC has proven itself solid as far as hardware is concerned since I have been using it with no issues as a Windows HTPC for several years.

I’m not sure where to start resolving this. Any suggestions?

This is probably a stupid question but what does your boot device order look like? Is the drive Rock is installed on at the top of the boot list?

Yes, of course the internal SSD is the only boot drive available. It’s at the top of the boot order. But just to be sure I did the F10 boot option to force choose the drive, but same exact result.

I’ve also re-downloaded and re-imaged the USB boot with a fresh RoonOS image just in case that was corrupt the first time. Same result: Successfully installs RoonOS but then boots to blank screen with flashing cursor in upper left corner.

Also have confirmed compatibility of my SSD with the Intel chart for my NUC. Again, this was a reliable and fully functioning NUC for several years immediately prior to this ROCK installation attempt.

Assume you are using a LAN connection?